Click here to return to opening home animation page View printable page

 

Climate change is one of the most significant issue facing the world today. We need to take effective action today to slow the trend towards global warming.

Although many of us recognize the need to work on climate change issues, often we lack the resources and focus to move from thought to action. Working at a community level, we can bring together people, resources and ideas to foster positive results.

ecoCommunities is a province-wide project that will help small and medium-sized Ontario communities take action on climate change by assisting them to identify, develop, implement and evaluate projects that will significantly reduce greenhouse gas emissions. These plans will help the communities to:

  • Engage in specific projects that involve the whole community
  • Improve the natural environment
  • Strengthen the local economy
  • Build community capacity to deal with the social, environmental, and economic issues related to climate change

Modelled on ecoPerth’s success over the last five years, ecoCommunities, will support community actions that make use of the existing resources of communities and create lasting social, economic and environmenal benefits.


Aug 16, 2017
View printable page / Imprimez

Click here to return to opening home animation page Imprimez

 

Les changements climatiques sont l’un des enjeux les plus importants auxquels fait face le monde aujourd’hui. Nous devons maintenant prendre des mesures efficaces pour ralentir le réchauffement de la planète.

Même si nous sommes nombreux à reconnaître la nécessité de faire face aux questions de changements climatiques, nous manquons souvent de ressources et nous ne faisons souvent pas preuve de l’attention qu’il faut pour passer de la pensée aux actes. En travaillant au niveau communautaire, nous pouvons rassembler les gens, les ressources et les idées, de sorte à obtenir des résultats positifs.

Le projet provincial ÉcoCommunautés aidera les petites et moyennes communautés ontariennes à poser des gestes en ce qui a trait aux changements climatiques ainsi qu’à déterminer, à élaborer, à mettre en œuvre et à évaluer des projets qui réduiront grandement les émissions de gaz à effet de serre. Ces plans aideront les communautés à :

  • s’engager dans des projets précis qui englobent toute la communauté;
  • améliorer l'environnement naturel;
  • consolider l'économie locale;
  • miser sur le potentiel de la collectivité pour composer avec les questions sociales, environnementales et économiques liées aux changements climatiques.

En se fondant sur le succès qu’a connu ecoPerth au cours des cinq dernières années, les ÉcoCommunautés soutiendront les mesures communautaires qui font appel aux ressources existantes des communautés et créent des avantages sociaux, économiques et environnementaux durables.


Aug 16, 2017
View printable page / Imprimez