Click here to return to opening home animation page View printable page

 

How to become an ecoCommunity


The best opportunities for success will come when an existing community organization or group takes a lead role in the project, and encourage others to join. No prior involvement in climate change or environmental issues is required. If your group or organization is interested in participating in the ecoCommunities project, let us know (click on “contact us”) and an OHCC Community Animator (CA) will contact you for further information.

The CA will help you to assess your eligibility for the project. If the eligibility criteria has been met, you will complete an application form that is then forwarded to the project steering committee. Once approved by the steering committee, you will be asked to sign a simple agreement outlining the expectations of your participation and the services that will be provided to you through the project.

The next step will be to work with the CA to organize a community workshop, led by ecoPerth staff, in which members of your community will learn more about the project, potential projects and prepare and action plan.

The following criteria will be used to assist in the selection of participating communities:

  • Identification of a lead organization that is a not-for-profit community-based organization working in a community of under 100,000 people (or, in exceptions, working in a smaller part of a larger community)
  • Capacity of the lead organization is sufficient to deliver projects (in terms of experience, volunteers and community connections) with the type of support we can provide
  • Broad membership, active volunteers and links with local government (or a desire to build their capacity in these areas)
  • Willingness to take on projects that will stimulate action on climate change issues throughout an entire community (or a large identifiable part of a community)

The Lead Organization Should Not:

  • be a municipality, university, school or hospital (although they could be instrumental in initiating a community-based steering committee for local projects; lead organizations will be encouraged to link with these organizations)

    Click here to download an application form


Dec 14, 2017
View printable page / Imprimez

Click here to return to opening home animation page Imprimez

 

Comment devenir une ÉcoCommunauté


Les plus grandes possibilités de succès se présentent quand un groupe ou un organisme communautaire existant assume un rôle clé dans le cadre du projet et encourage les autres à s'y joindre. Aucun engagement préalable aux questions de changements climatiques ou environnementales n'est requis. Si votre groupe ou votre organisme est intéressé à participer au projet ÉcoCommunautés, cliquez sur Communiquer avec nous ; une animatrice ou un animateur communautaire de la CCSO communiquera avec vous pour vous donner plus de renseignements.

L'animateur communautaire vous aidera à évaluer votre admissibilité au projet. Si vous répondez aux critères d'admissibilité, vous remplirez un formulaire de demande qui sera ensuite transmis au comité directeur du projet. Une fois que votre demande sera approuvée par le comité directeur, vous devrez signer une simple entente précisant les attentes relatives à votre participation et les services qui vous seront fournis pendant le projet.

La prochaine étape sera de travailler avec l'animateur communautaire pour organiser un atelier communautaire, animé par le personnel d'ecoPerth, au cours duquel des membres de votre communauté se renseigneront davantage sur le projet, sur les projets potentiels, et prépareront un plan dâaction.

Les critères suivants seront utilisés pour aider à choisir les communautés participantes :

  • Identification d’un organisme communautaire directeur à but non lucratif qui dessert une communauté de moins de 100 000 personnes (ou, exceptionnellement, desservant une partie d’une communauté plus grande);
  • Capacité de l’organisme directeur à réaliser des projets (en termes d’expérience, de relations avec des bénévoles et avec la communauté) avec le type de soutien que nous sommes en mesure d’offrir;
  • De nombreux membres, des bénévoles actifs et des liens avec le gouvernement local (ou la volonté de développer ces atouts);
  • La volonté d’entreprendre des projets qui stimuleront l’action touchant des questions de changements climatiques dans l’ensemble d’une communauté (ou une grande partie identifiable de la communauté).

L’organisme directeur ne doit pas être :

  • Une municipalité, une université, une école ou un hôpital (cependant, ces établissements peuvent contribuer à la formation d’un comité directeur communautaire pour les projets locaux; les organismes directeurs seront encouragés à faire appel à ces organismes).

    Cliquer ici pour télécharger le formulaire de demande.


Dec 14, 2017
View printable page / Imprimez