Click here to return to opening home animation page View printable page

 

What is "ecoCommunities"?


ecoCommunities is a joint project of the Ontario Healthy Communities Coalition and ecoPerth, funded by the Ontario Trillium Foundation and Environment Canada. Between 8 and 12 Ontario communities will be selected to participate in the ecoCommunities project, between April 2004 and November 2005

The project was developed based on the following premises:

  • That reducing the extent of climate change is a national priority
  • That community members, working together, can have a significant impact on climate change
  • That the successful community action projects developed by ecoPerth, in the Town of Perth, Ontario could be used as models for projects in other communities, with appropriate customization for local implementation
  • That many small to mid-size communities do not have adequate resources to develop and manage projects
  • That OHCC and ecoPerth could provide assistance to 8-12 communities to implement effective community actions

The ecoCommunities Approach

Action First: While education and awareness programs are helpful, for real change to occur a broad range of people need to take constructive action. We believe that by engaging people in action projects, they will also increase their awareness of climate change issues and their commitment to change.

Start Small: We ask people to make small changes first. This builds commitment and momentum, leading to subsequent bigger actions. Some of the projects described in the Resource Kit can be completed by one or two people in a few hours.

Getting to Yes: We encourage municipalities to take small steps or provide small amounts of in-kind support. Once they get used to saying “YES” it is more likely they will say “yes” to future requests.


Oct 19, 2017
View printable page / Imprimez

Click here to return to opening home animation page Imprimez

 

Que sont les « ÉcoCommunautés »?


ÉcoCommunautés est un projet conjoint de la Coalition des communautés en santé de l'Ontario et ecoPerth, financé par la Fondation Trillium de l'Ontario et Environnement Canada. De 8 à 12 communautés ontariennes seront choisies pour participer au projet ÉcoCommunautés, entre avril 2004 et novembre 2005.

L’élaboration du projet est basée sur les prémisses suivantes:

  • Réduire la portée des changements climatiques est une priorité nationale.
  • Ensemble, les membres de la communauté peuvent avoir un impact considérable sur les changements climatiques.
  • Les projets d’action communautaire éprouvés mis sur pied par ecoPerth, à Perth, en Ontario, pourraient servir de modèle aux projets dans d’autres communautés s’ils sont personnalisés.
  • De nombreuses petites et moyennes communautés ne possèdent pas les ressources adéquates pour élaborer et gérer des projets.
  • La CCSO et ecoPerth pourraient aider de 8 à 12 communautés à mettre en œuvre des mesures communautaires efficaces.

L’approche des ÉcoCommunautés

L’action d’abord : Même si les programmes d’éducation et de sensibilisation sont utiles, pour que des changements réels se produisent à grande échelle, de nombreuses personnes doivent prendre des mesures constructives. Nous croyons qu’en amenant des gens à participer à des projets d'action, ceux-ci seront plus sensibilisés aux questions de changements climatiques et ils seront plus engagés envers le changement.

Commencer par de petits changements : Nous demandons d’abord aux gens de faire de petits changements. Ainsi, nous suscitons l’engagement et l’enthousiasme qui mèneront à des mesures de plus grande envergure. Certains des projets décrits dans la trousse de ressources peuvent être réalisés par une ou deux personnes, en quelques heures.

Obtenir un oui : Nous encourageons les municipalités à adopter des mesures modestes ou à fournir de petits dons en nature. Une fois qu’elles ont l’habitude de dire « oui », il y a plus de chances qu’elles acquiescent à de futures demandes.


Dec 14, 2017
View printable page / Imprimez